Waiting for The Vow Forever

Love is a many splendored thing. Love makes the world go round. Love is like this, love is like that. We hear so many metaphors about love and most if not all the time, we also want to experience those metaphors. Butterflies in your stomach. Eyes turning into hearts. Tingling nerves. Flames. Candle. Love is enchanting. Love is magical… and all that jazz.

But love is complicated. Yes, it makes us imagine butterflies in our stomach, duplicates our heart and displaces them to our eye sockets, and makes us feel the minute operations by our nerves. Indeed, it’s magical. Indeed, it’s enchanting. But aren’t all these mental and physical images complicated?

I’ve been watching too many love stories lately and it looks like the entire of me is being consumed by the thoughts about love. Not that it’s a bad thing, of course. I learned quite a lot and I felt so much. I just love this feeling of being so overwhelmed of the love stories I watched.

Waiting for Forever is a 2010 film starred by Rachel Bilson and Tom Sturridge. It just amazes me how people can fall in love after somebody simply showed them one kind gesture. And that love sustained the person for many years. It’s a kind of love that’s untainted, innocent, and without malice. It’s like being blindfolded and not seeing everything that’s cruel in the real world. No one can say what’s normal and what’s not. Everyone has his own standards but only kids are allowed to believe that fairy tales do happen. Love and everything else is just not peachy.

Lines by Will Donner that I loved:

Bad love letters beg for love back. Good love letters ask for nothing.

If I had one wish it would be that your life brings you a taste of happiness that you brought me. That you can feel what it’s like to love.

My best friend and I promised to each other that we’ll watch The Vow together. I’ve been busy since it showed in cinemas here in the city but we finally had the chance to watch it this afternoon. I’ve watched a lot of love stories that involved accidents yielding amnesia to one of the main characters but I’m a very empathetic hopeless romantic so every time I did, I always ended up loving the movie.

The Vow (2012) stars Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum. Well, that’s The Notebook and Dear John! It’s almost like the Pinoy movie Amnesia Girl but I think they portrayed this movie very seriously that I just can’t seem to swallow Channing’s expressions. I wanted to run into the big screen and give him a hug and just tell him that everything’s gonna be okay because I’ve been telling myself that there’s gonna be a happy ending. There are just things that you can’t get back anymore no matter how hard you work on them. Some things are just meant to be unfair even if one fights and never gives up. It’s just not easy and eventually, one will tire. At some point, one should simply raise a white flag and let fate take over.

Their vows:

Paige: I vow to help you love life, to always hold you with tenderness, and to have the patience that love demands. To speak when words are needed, and to share the silence when they’re not. To agree to disagree on red velvet cake, and to live within the warmth of your heart and always call it home.

Leo: I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love. I vow to love you. And no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find a way back to each other.

Love is unfair. Love isn’t peachy. Love has glitches. Love is complicated. But no matter how bad it gets, it’s still love. It’s not just something physical, mental, psychological, spiritual, cal… tal.. cal. It’s that one thing that brings all those tal’s and cal’s together. It’s still love. Even if it’s stupid, even if it’s crazy. Even with the butterflies and hearts and vertigo.

Lalalalala. Lalalalala. Doobidoo bidoooo. Ah ah ah ah ah ahhhhhhhh. ❤

Leave a Reply

