Central Hawaiian’s Iron Dinosaurs

I grew up hearing my Mama’s stories about trains and sugar mills at Central Hawaiian. The way she described it was so beautiful that I had a very vivid picture of a small village like that in the movies. She, along with her siblings and parents lived at the back of the hospital and beside the church. Only a few steps away from their little home was the public market. The nurses, pastors, and some of the workers in the area were Americans then.

You see the sugar canes on the truck?

The way I imagined it was like a little town from Sim’s but I had the chance to visit the place just a week ago and it was already far from what my Mama described it to be.

That’s me, my aunt, and Mama with the new owners of their house. It’s far from how it looked like decades ago. They had a simple two-storey home back then.

I googled information about it and I knew what the little town really was back then. The laymen called it Central Hawaiian but the land is still part of Silay City, Negros Occidental. It was tagged as Central Hawaiian because in June 1918, the Hawaiian Philippine Company, a sugar mill, was established there. It was in the 1920s when the railroad was constructed and that’s what really interests me. To this day, the sugar mill still operates and the site is deemed as one of the landmarks of Silay City.

Just a few steps away from the highway, you will find the steam locomotives and the big truck carrying sugar canes. Those steam locomotives are now famed as the “Iron Dinosaurs”.
That’s Mama and her sister riding the Iron Dinosaurs.
I really loved the drama that comes with the place. It was like going down the memory lane. I can imagine the sound of the train and the screams of the little children playing along the railroad when they hear the train coming.
The railroads.
I wish they had maintained the place but then you know, regrets always sprout in the end and I know many people are frustrated because the beauty that once was held by Central Hawaiian is now gone. Nevertheless, its trails are still seen and I just wish that young people today can appreciate it as much as I do.
That’s me with my cousin and my sisters. Spell L-O-V-E! ;p
I know where I’ll have my pre-nuptial photo shoot now! πŸ™‚
2 thoughts on “Central Hawaiian’s Iron Dinosaurs

Leave a Reply

