My Prerogative

March 23, 2010

Now after all these years, I find myself in introspection. True enough, it’s in silence and in being alone that we are truly able to scrutinize ourselves. And in deep thought, I tried to have an honest evaluation of what I have become.

I am surprised of what I have discovered. I actually changed after some years. I am clueless about how minor or major they are and how they actually work in their own ways in meddling with my everyday living yet even though those changes unconsciously unfolded, I realized that every little transition of my entire personality is my prerogative.

Victor Frankl said, “When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.” And in every presenting situation, we are allowed to choose how to react. We are our own culprits to change. Some events happen in our lives inevitably and it is on how we react to those changes that we are molded. We may not know it the first glance but then when we think it up, we are our own agents of change.

I believe that all these events are predestined and we cannot change them. We cannot have a glimpse of what will happen in the near future. We cannot have a trailer like in the movies that will warn us and hint us of how we will decide on things. These events in life are occurring in a sequence in time. The actions done upon the occurrences, their significance  is all in our hands.

Life is how we make it, they say. Indeed. We are our own captain. We are our own compass. I chose to be who I am today. Even if in some ways, I was left with no choice, I still had a choice to choose that only option. It is hard to comprehend. Life is always as it seems for most of us yet I was changed because it was my prerogative to. It still is up to now.

And in deep thought, I conclude that I am like Britney Spears. We’re singing, “It’s my prerogative!”

9 thoughts on “My Prerogative

    1. Hey, David! You’re welcome! Yes, that’s right. Circumstances are somewhat inevitable so we might as well change our attitude towards them.

      Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

    1. No, Tito. Don’t have time to drop by the libraries but I found a friend who can lend me lots of books! 🙂

      Yes, I see to it that I get some “alone time” every now and then. ;p

Leave a Reply

