Parent Trouble

1. They don’t realize the generation gap and the thing called change. I strongly think that they haven’t come face to face with globalization and its effects to the current generation. Parents would always say “During our time, it’s not like this and it’s not like that.” Worse is, they are close-minded about the fact that they are living in the present and there’s the need to adjust and be flexible. It’s simply not the same and all those comparisons only make things worse as children may not give up in showing their parents what this generation is really like. But then again, there are parents who completely understand the generation gap thus earning their children’s respect for their generation.

2. Because mothers know best and fathers always lead the household, there’s absolutely no need to listen to the children. This is parallel to the fact that they are never wrong. That they are the kind of leaders that are permitted not to listen to their followers.Β Oh yes, parents try to hear the children out. But they fail to listen. In the end, the effort of the children to let themselves be understood are put into waste. Children are Β just children and their suggestions are no good at all. Children don’t have enough experiences and they are simply immature. But then again, there are parents who believe in the mental and psychological functions of their children’s brains and think that their children are smart enough to make some sense thus gaining their children’s respect for their opinions and regulations.

3. Parents believe that they never have to say they’re sorry. They take too much pride in being parents that all the blame should always be set upon the children. Some parents never realize that their children’s behavior is also dependent on how he was raised, who he looks up to, and where he lives. They always say “there’s no need for this since I’m your parent, anyway.” This is a simple illustration (from the basic unit of the society) of an authority figure trying to take advantage of his power. If only parents realize that simply saying “I’m sorry” would humble a child to the extreme. But then again, there are parents who are sincere enough to tell their children that they, too, are humans. That they are not perfect thus teaching the child not to be arrogant when he is wronged. Thus teaching the child the virtue of humility and acceptance.

16 thoughts on “Parent Trouble

  1. Thank you for sharing…What you said is true? At the same time, people tend to misuse the freedom given by parents in the early age itself.

    1. Yes, that’s true. I think it always should be conscious parenthood. Parents should try to examine the personalities of their children are so they know how to bring them up effectively. πŸ™‚

  2. hi. what a lovely and insightful post. it can give a parent, especially the young parents, something to think about or plan ahead while they raise their children.

    i am a forty-something nearing 50 parent. i have to say i had lots and lots of stories to tell about parenting, even wrote some of them, too.

    aside from the gap, both sides need to think that they are individuals that have different mindsets, influenced by many things and most probably things that are entirely different from what each had experienced, and is experiencing. the question is, who must give more reservations, or understanding (patience, to some) given the gap and the individual differences? it’s subjective, i think.

    all that was enumerated above are true but not to all parents. some, as one had mentioned, are open-minded; some are stubborn; and some are late-bloomers.

    i am a mixture of everything, a parent that always strives to protect but never to bow down to disrespect. for me, parents and children can be friends but it is not to be forgotten that they have to be respected. small things, for example, like letting them know where a grown-up child would spend his or her weekend will make them feel special. children when they grow up to be young adults presume that the parents will always understand never knowing the hurt and the impression of a single deed of thoughtlessness.

    1. Thanks for visiting my blog. And I’m really happy that some parents are also open-minded when it comes to understanding their children, especially their teens. I’m already a young professional and I still ask for permission from my parents wherever I go. It’s absolutely okay with me because I know it’s the right thing to do. Actually, whenever I feel frustrated about their decisions or their opinion, I also try to see things from their point of view. I just wish that they, too, will be capable of doing this.

      I’m really a strong-willed and frank person and I’m just kind of worried too. Maybe because among us siblings, I’m the only one who tries to convey what I have in mind most of the time. My younger siblings keep all of their thoughts to themselves. I just wish that I can speak in behalf of them all the time so they, too, can be understood.

  3. may parents are like that.. especially my mother… that’s why i was a rebel when i was young.. but now, my mother and i are like friends… we sometimes agree or disagree when having a heated debate on who ate the last loaf of bread…

  4. I’m blessed with very open minded folks. They’re in their 50’s but I guess they were brought up definitely had an impact on how they’ve raised me. I do, however, understand the struggle of this whole generation gap issue where parents and kids live on two different galaxies and this idea of hypocrisy rises. But the times are changing and soon enough we’ll be parents ourselves and maybe parenting then will be different, or conscious, than it is now. In the mean time, it seems like you have your life planned out for you with your profession and such.. So, konting tiis na lang!

    1. I like how you used the word “conscious”. Really perfect. Or maybe I can also add sensitive. I pretty much understand where they are coming from most of the time but I just don’t get why most of the parents (not only mine) never seem to understand their children.

Leave a Reply

