Was he an exhibitionist?

When I was in college, we often laughed in our discussions about sexual disorders.   Yesterday, I realized that it is not, in any way, a laughing matter.

I was from Taylay, a textile store downtown of Iloilo. I rode the jeepney to Robinson’s Mall to eat lunch. I wasn’t the only passenger, a man got on the jeepney and sat on the other side but not directly in front of me. I was looking on my side when the jeepney stopped and I chanced a glance on his legs wide open. He was touching himself with his left hand and he was only wearing shorts without underwear. In other words, yes, I saw his balls.

I wanted to jump off the jeepney right there and then but when it stopped, another woman got on and sat beside the man. He was holding his bag with his right hand while holding the jeepney’s rails and I saw him glancing at me from time to time. I was scared and I wanted to cry.

Clearly, it can be considered as sexual abuse. Now that I think of it, I remember that I swallowed a lot the whole time. But I could not move until he finally got off. I think I couldn’t even let out a voice that time. When he got off, I texted my friend and I also shared this to my mother when I got home.

As a nurse, I just told myself to get over it as the man is actually sick. I read about exhibitionism and it saddens me to think that maybe the man does that in front of more strangers, women who are clueless that they are being sexually abused.

Do people who have sexual disorders also submit themselves to rehabilitation? Or do they and the people around them just live with it?

11 thoughts on “Was he an exhibitionist?

  1. I know this site provides quality depending posts and other stuff, is there any
    other website which presents these kinds of information in quality?

  2. Follow this simple directions and you will be amazed how good this pizza recipe really is.
    Never try to remove a pizza stone from the oven until it is
    completely cooled. They can use quality produce to make simple and great flavors.

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous
    blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. I’m sorry you had to witness that..that’s just…whoa. For the rehab thing,I guess the kind sexual disorders they have would influence their decision to get into rehab. With people like him…he could be treated but it most likely will only happen if he gets caught –he probably won’t choose it himself.

    1. I actually talked about this in class today. We were discussing Sigmond Freud’s Psychosexual Theory. Maybe he had a traumatic childhood event which led him to behave that way. Nevertheless, he needs to try to face and defy the behavior himself.

Leave a Reply

