Who nurses the nurse when the nurse is sick?

Yesterday, I stained my record of no lates and no absences. I was already going to the bathroom when it suddenly hit me that I can’t work effectively with a terrible cough. So I called in sick.

And I nursed myself. I had low grade fever so I sponge bathed myself. I took some medications and got myself drunk with water. I did pretty much everything a nurse would do for a patient with Pneumonia and Bronchial Asthma and it was all because I was too eager to play with my patients without wearing my mask at work.

I rarely get sick. I mean, I have asthma and rhinitis but as chronic as they are, I learned to deal with them everyday. I can’t remember the last time I had cough, maybe 2 years ago; and the last time I had fever was last year too. So it’s pretty unusual for me to lock myself in my room for the reason of being sick.

Papa who’s currently in Manila called me and Mama keeps on asking and checking on me if I’m feeling okay. Honestly, I did not feel like this is something serious. Maybe they’re just concerned because I rarely get sick and they’re both bugging me to go for a check-up but I refused. I guess I’m that stubborn just like every other nurse in the planet.

Times like this, I’m thankful that I’m a nurse. Who nurses the nurse when the nurse is sick? The nurse herself. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Who nurses the nurse when the nurse is sick?

  1. Prevention is better than cure. Why would a Nurse get sick in the first place? I mean wouldn’t you practice what you preach? πŸ˜‰ I guess the fraternity takes care of each other. Hope you feel better soon.

    1. No one is invincible and surely, we, nurses, also get sick. And I also mentioned why I got sick in the first place and how I took care of myself too. And thanks, I feel better now!

Leave a Reply

