In Another Life

Time Check: 7:05 am. It’s 45 minutes before my day officially starts. I am not; however, worried that I’ll be running late for work because I’m already down to my last bite of pancake. By having something heavy for breakfast everyday, I stay true to my preferred diet nowadays – eating breakfast like a king and dinner like a pauper.

I get up to brush my teeth and finally dab my usual Russian red lipstick. Living alone isn’t so bad at all, I think to myself. I secure the windows, lock my front door, and I’m off to work.

My first few months here in the city was a struggle in walking to work everyday. Have you tried walking briskly in 3-inch high heels? But I’m used to it now. My office is just a 5-minute walk from my place, anyway. A small coffee shop is situated next to our building. It took some time for me to adjust to my new caffeine intake schedule. I used to have it at breakfast but our boss allows us drinks at work as he believes that it makes his employees more creative, no matter what the drink is so I tried to change my caffeine regimen.

My left hand carries the cup of latte and my right hand is free to press the elevator button. Imagine me in that awkward position all the way to the 11th floor where my office is located. I put my coffee down on my desk and appreciate the beauty of my cubicle before rummaging through my agenda for the day.

The blank wall that I’m facing at everyday is a sight to behold. I don’t know about you but I get more creative with that. My office trinkets and whatnot are on the side of my table, such a crowd next to my office laptop. The boss is generous enough in making us choose our own chairs. He says he values comfort and believes in the principle that happy employees are more productive. My colleagues and I couldn’t be more thankful. We get to have a private cubicle but with simply pulling away from our tables, we can easily say hi to the others.

I have a small cork board too which holds my goal for the week, the deadlines written with red ink on white post-its and a few reminders on yellow ones. For today, I have a few articles to do and stuff to edit. A meeting for next month’s issue was set this afternoon too.

I feel like I never have to work a day with this job. I love what I do, I love how I’m getting paid, and I love where it takes me and how it makes me feel. I love that my nails get done regularly and my hair is always styled the way I want it to and not tied up in a bun. I love my job and the comfort and fulfillment it brings.

I go home past 5 in the afternoon on most days but we also tend to work overtime days before deadlines. When you love what you’re doing, you forget to check the time, anyway. I lay in bed everyday thankful that I chose this path, thankful that I get to help my family with the expenses and thankful that I  somehow satisfy my wants.

I’m only 23 and there’s so much more in store for me but I don’t have much to ask for for myself, only for others.

But then again, reality check.

Leave a Reply

