Snapplets: My Random Snaps

I finally decided on what to call my random posts. There you are! This week’s snapplets are a little bit gore so if you’re not into blood and all that morbid stuff, you might as well run for your life right now. Kidding. πŸ˜‰

I think this was taken in 2010, the night before my cousin’s wedding. We traveled all the way to Kabankalan, about 5 hours away from Bacolod City for the occasion. I pity these two little pigs but they truly served their purpose in life.

IMG-20121116-00200

IMG-20121116-00198Watching the process on how to “prepare” the pigs to be cooked, I had a short reflection and thought of abandoning eating pork all together. They were noisy, maybe begging for the people to stop squeezing them to death. Two minutes later, I realized how silly I was. πŸ˜‰

IMG-20130305-00547Can you still handle it? I think this was taken last February. This was a bedside central venous pressure insertion. Our patient had Congestive Heart Failure. This was done to monitor his fluid status and the function of the right side of the heart. So much for the jargon. He was only 32 years old and was a little bit scared of the procedure. He wanted to see what was going on but since he couldn’t, he asked me to take a picture.

IMG-20130629-00785This one is simply unbelievable. This patient had this with him for twenty years! Can you imagine? His diagnosis was cystolithiasis, nephrolithiasis, and ureterolithiasis. Lithiasis means stone. He had stones in his urinary bladder, kidneys, and ureters. He was only able to urinate around 30 ml/day for two weeks when in fact, that’s the minimum expected hourly urinary output. As a result, his blood pressure shoot up. The doctors couldn’t even insert a foley catheter because of the obstruction.

IMG-20130625-00782Yeah, solid stones! Rock-hard. I can’t imagine the relief that he felt after they were removed. His wife had a dozen of jokes about his stones. Lol. He is one patient that I will not forget.

That’s it for this week’s snapplets. πŸ˜‰ It’s a glimpse of my life as a nurse in a public tertiary hospital. It can also serve as a reminder for us to take of our health.

14 thoughts on “Snapplets: My Random Snaps

  1. Poor Pig, But “THANK YOU FOR THE FOOD, PIG” πŸ˜€

    “His diagnosis was cystolithiasis, nephrolithiasis, and ureterolithiasis”
    – Wow lots of IASIS… (Nope, not even close to a medical degree, haha)

    My big brother also had his mini-stones remove the were small but they were a lot, but THIS… My gawwwd..
    Now that looks like a ROCK. :/

    Hands down to all nurses out there for having a strong gut to not even puke during these times. (-__-) Well, in your case during well.. “Everyday”

    Enjoyed your post. Enjoy your day!
    – Aenri (Aah-Yen-Ree)

    1. Lol! Thank, aenrii!

      Lithiasis actually means stones, that explains the suffix. Lol! You’re right, it looks like a rock and it’s rock-hard too!

      Thanks for the follow! πŸ™‚

      1. Lithiasis, another word added to my vocabulary. I’ll be like “Look at that big lithiasis by the beach!” Kidding. Hahaha. No prob, your blog is worth the follow! πŸ™‚

  2. Cool photos! Yay for bloooood. Hahah jokes. It’s nice of you to share sneak peeks of your nursing life πŸ˜€ Still can’t believe the size of that stone. Eeeks. And yay for snappletssssss

    1. Yes, that huge stone and several little ones too. My mother has kidney stones and they’re only like sand but she complains that it’s more painful than normal delivery so I guess in the pain scale of 1-10, this man can definitely say 15!

Leave a Reply

