I miss the babies.

A lot has been going on since my last post. Life has been too busy and I think I have been behaving like a zombie these days. I bid the APEX Pediatric Ward goodbye last October 20. Before I started my shift the next day at my new area, I found myself walking towards the children and just saying hello to my former head nurse and staff.

Children are, no doubt, difficult patients especially that most of our patients are below three years old. They simply cry when they feel something’s wrong but nurses and doctors only rely on presenting signs and from the child’s history as claimed by the mother or guardians. It was an easy ward, where I come from. We rarely have toxic shifts. Most of the time, the critical patients pass away upon transfer to our ward or in other cases, recover in a few days. Our ward only caters to patients with Acute Gastric Enteritis, Dehydration, Typhoid and Enteric Fever, Dengue Fever, Leptospirosis, Meningitis, Measles, Chickenpox, Tuberculosis, Bacterial Conjunctivitis, and other infectious diseases of children. It is, in other words, not as chaotic as the main pediatric ward of our hospital. That being said, we have more time to interact with the mothers and the patients. As a natural lover of children, I always take the babies from the cribs or beds and take them to the nurses’ station to play with them. My head nurse and other workmates can attest to that trademark.

Here are some of my most memorable patients. Oh, by the way, the parents consented to this so you don’t have to remind me of confidentiality. Β There were times that the parents also asked me to pose with their children on their cameras too or pass the photos through Bluetooth. πŸ˜‰

IMG-20130724-00859

IMG-20130726-00865

IMG-20130804-00882_1375964613074_l

Iloilo City-20130810-00892

Iloilo City-20130815-00901

Iloilo City-20130823-00912

Iloilo City-20130827-00918

Iloilo City-20130828-00920

IMG-20130827-00917

IMG-20130902-00940

IMG-20130912-00968

IMG-20130914-00973

IMG-20130924-00990

IMG-20130903-00943

IMG-20130903-00944I will miss “conducting” and listening to the screams and cries every morning and late at night. I will even miss the hard-headed mothers and fathers. LOL. Somehow, their children’s smiles take away the stress of exhausting days.

But most of all, I will miss them:

?????????????????????????????????????See ya around, Team Teray. πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “I miss the babies.

  1. Wow I know how hard it is with the children at times, must be even harder for u because they’re sick and in pain. But really agree that their smiles make life easier. πŸ™‚ You’re so adorbs with the children

  2. Priceless! They may not remember your name but you are surely in the hearts of these kids. As a kid though, I never remembered any cheerful and accommodating nurse even in school haha So when I saw your pictures and read your post, everything suddenly fell in to place. There are nurses who render service from their hearts. Please don’t get tired of sharing your happiness to them.

    1. Awww that’s very heartwarming. You know, there are also some days when I feel like I’m being a monster especially to the bigger kids who cry all the time just because they feel like it but I still make sure that I “scold” them in a playful way.

      I hope someday I can meet some of them again, but of course, not in a hospital. πŸ™‚

  3. It’s a good thing that the kids in the pictures with you didn’t cry during the photo sessions because there are other kids who would cry immediately when they see someone wearing white. =P

    1. I know, that’s why we always say that nurses who are assigned in pediatric wards should wear colorful scrub suits.

      Hihi. My head nurse calls me a silencer. Even if some children cry the first time I meet them, by the time they are discharged I can already make them laugh. Maybe they see me as a playmate (because of my size) that’s why I can pacify them. Lol. ;p

Leave a Reply

