In the Dark

Others deem their lack of degree as a barrier to getting a career while I, on the other hand, sometimes believe that my own degree closes a lot of doors to better opportunities.

Three years into this habit of regretting, I still find myself in the darkness. A month ago, I heard a friend say that three years of being a nurse still doesn’t make one sure of where he’s headed. When nurses get together, you’ll overhear most of us say that we’re in the same page. I never thought that being one can be a reason for rejection.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my profession. I love caring for my patients but I didn’t know that being one can be so limiting. If it wasn’t a trend back then and all of us who believe that we are brilliant in something else pursued a career which truly fit us, then we could have been settled and happier right this early in each of our lives.

But mind you, this may not be true for all. Some endure being a nurse because they believe that they can be good at it as they are not in other aspects. Maybe some stay in the profession because they still do not know what and where they want to be. As Tesha the Great had said, it’s only a matter of perspective. If you are not happy now, you actually have many options and it’s not too late to do what you really want to do. I believe so too, it’s always up to you to look into the many options this world can offer.

For me, though, the most frustrating part is that my parents spent around P50,000 per semester for my four years in college. Talking about a failed investment. Ugh.

To my fellow nurses who are also in the dark, may we all not give up. Do not give up due to exhaustion or overfatigue, that is if you’re working in the hospital. Endure the eye bags, pressure, and the long wait before the green pastures. To those who choose to divert from the profession, do not give up because if you love what you’re doing, it wouldn’t be long before you can finally be where you’ve always wanted to be.

Now, I’ll leave you with a beautiful quote from Twitter:

“What hurts you blesses you. Darkness is your candle.” – Rumi

17 thoughts on “In the Dark

          1. πŸ™‚ dont worry ate is naka.abroad na as planned. But your words remind me of her situations before like many others..

            You’ll get to see the light soon Apple! stay strong.

            1. Thank you, my runner/writer friend! Oh btw, I read that you’ll be going to Manila? Beep me. Sana meet up tayo ni Addie. I think she deactivated her FB again. Hehe

  1. I feel you πŸ™‚ But don’t get me wrong, even though I forcefully diverted my career path, the Nursing education (and training) still throbs in every artery of my body. I still crave for that “interaction” with patients, Pol. I crave for challenging roles.

    And as I embark in my little realm of design and travel, I make it a point that I could function as a nurse in any way possible. That’s why I volunteer as a nurse in remote areas. To fill that void and to continue to serve.

    Keep the fire burning. πŸ™‚

  2. I think it’s safe to say that we all come to this crossroads, the time to reflect and see where we are headed. You’re definitely not alone on this I assure you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

