On Modern Day Nursing Moms

I allot almost five hours every day for household chores. Sometimes, I get annoyed that I have to do them thinking that I can be more productive with other tasks. But I can’t stand the sight of dusty cabinets, a sink full of glasses and plates, and sandy floors. A clean house simply satisfies me. Except this morning, I realized that there’s just no end to washing the dishes and cleaning the whole house. They are tasks that we’re bound to do every day without seeing long term results. They’re dead tasks that are consuming precious time.

It only deepened my appreciation for all the housewives. They endure monotonous routines; and while the children enjoy the passing of time as they move towards their goals, the mothers are still stuck at home doing what they’ve always been doing – household chores.

But here comes another thought to ponder – we’re in the millennial age! The baby boomers have transformed into doting grandmas and the 90’s babies already have babies themselves. With the intense climate change comes a change in how the household is run. The mothers are now perceived as super women. They are more empowered and driven in their careers while they try to meet the demands of their household.

Last August 1, around 50 Breastfeeding Ilonggas gathered for Hakab Na 2015. In celebration of the Breastfeeding Month, nursing moms came together and simultaneously latched on their child. They are modern day moms who chose to breastfeed their children, work, and attend to the needs of their husbands at the same time. I was blown away.

20150801_104222
The big latch on

Fast forward to 24:49 to watch the news about the event:

Menstrual pains can never equal true labor and birthing pains. Five hours of household chores each day can never match actual household management including finances. But still, these mothers I met want to give more of what they’re expected for their children to be healthier and for their husbands to save more.

Of course, in all honesty, they say that it’s difficult. Breastfeeding in itself is a struggle. How much more breastfeeding while working? I know what to call it – stubborn love. It’s a tough job to nurse and work at the same time, but there’s just no stopping these breastfeeding ilonggas. Sore nipples, mastitis, full breasts, and a busy work environment are not enough to shake their firm belief that breastfeeding is best for their children. They’re steady and intense believers that breastfeeding and work can work.

I can’t thank my mother enough for breastfeeding me until I was two. I’m more resilient than my younger siblings because of that. Oh gosh, and my mother still had to clean me up after I poop and bathe and play with me. She had to clean, cook, do the laundry, and stand an excessively talkative and inquisitive daughter.

20150801_105905

Do modern day moms get more than 24 hours a day? Or do they have invisible tentacles to help them? I can’t wrap my head around it. I certainly don’t have the right to complain about the chores I have to deal with every day. My five hours can’t compete with the time, effort, and the sacrifices of these working and nursing moms.

11098191_10152952148945966_1326726714965706592_n
The BFI Core Group. The Manangs I look up to. Credits to Stanley Ong for this photo.

I have so much admiration for you, Breastfeeding Ilonggas. You’ve come a long way since the first gathering I also attended two years ago. Congratulations!

Find passionate, helpful, and approachable mothers and advocates that can help you in your breastfeeding journey by joining Breastfeeding Ilonggas on Facebook

Leave a Reply

