When My Tired is Tired

Who wouldn’t agree that nursing is such a stressful profession? Gah, sometimes I wish I can bring my family to work so they can understand why I’m so irate and prickly at home. To name a few, difficult patients, demanding significant others, rude and unappreciative doctors and heads, hectic schedules, and sluggish workmates turn cheerful nurses at work into exhausted and lethargic people at home. We are cursed blessed with the eternal lack of sleep and multiparous eye bags.
7 hours e5c2810b192f8e56ea0c0ba2c2a89a6cWe are constantly exhausted and not just in the physical sense. There is the steady search for inspiration. Every day is a battle with time, priorities, and lack of motivation. Being prone to chronic fatigue, most of us would always come to a point of being worn out. However, before we fall off the edge of weariness, we take a breather. We stop and break the ice – do something fun, travel, sleep, and just relax.

I, for one, love to go out with blogger friends for food trips. I blog, watch movies and series, and bond with my family. Whenever there’s time and a little extra, I’m also up for traveling. For days when these are not possible, I treat myself with a massage. I couldn’t remember a day when I didn’t complain of pain on some body part after work. Tired feet is a constant. Aching back, head, and shoulders are for shifts when we only get to sit for an hour or two while we are charting. Elevating my feet every after shift is not enough to relieve the tiredness.

So yesterday, I headed to Spa Riviera for a much needed pamper sesh. I tried their Kalipay Foot Massage. This new service is an hour of massage from the thighs to your toes with a bonus short back massage and a delicious mint tea.

14159127_10206920200627401_2134131282_n

14182111_10206920207707578_824069365_n

Before nurses fall off the edge of exhaustion, we take a breather. We all need a reward for having constantly tired feet and eternal lack of sleep. Spa Riviera's newest offering, Kalipay foot massage is this week's icebreaker for me. An hour of relaxing massage from my thighs to my toes made me happy as a clam. Nalipay sa kalipay! Thanks, #SpaRiviera. . . . . . . . . #vscocam #vscoph #nurses #massage #footmassage #nurse #IloiloBloggers #Iloilo
Before nurses fall off the edge of exhaustion, we take a breather. We all need a reward for having constantly tired feet and eternal lack of sleep. Spa Riviera’s newest offering, Kalipay foot massage is this week’s icebreaker for me. An hour of relaxing massage from my thighs to my toes made me happy as a clam. Nalipay sa kalipay! Thanks, #SpaRiviera.

And just like that, I am refreshed and ready for busy shifts again. Yes, we all become tired, but I think we are all supposed to be. We are exhausted for the right reasons and we just need to find out what can replenish our energy, refresh our minds, and enliven our spirits before we approach that sinking point, whether it’s a 12-hour nap or a simple foot massage. We still stick to our mantra: “new every morning”.

Leave a Reply

