Fine Dining 101 at The Granary, Richmonde Hotel Iloilo

Life is an accumulation of experiences. You also deserve to dine in a fancy restaurant, be waited upon lavishly, and be served with a gratifying four-course meal. A luxurious lunch set was laid on our table at The Granary at Richmonde Hotel Iloilo to kick off our Megaworld Foodcrawl. Caught off guard, I rummaged through my subconscious for some Fine Dining etiquette I retained from my highschool HomeTech teacher, Prof. Ortigas, but I failed. 

I’m all for casual dining. I go out in comfortable clothes, talk and laugh a lot during meals, and eat my food however I want to. But, sometimes I also imagine myself being all dolled up for a formal dining experience. It’s been a while since I last touched crisp white table cloths. Lol. Perfect timing.

A sample of a four-course meal from The Granary

Appetizer

IMG_20170727_083727_416
Fried Sisig Wraps (Deep fried sisig – stuffed spring rolls) – an oriental twist to a beloved Filipino appetizer

Soup

IMG_20170727_082953_455
Gratineed French Onion Soup – Caramelized onions in beef brother topped with baked mozzarella and Gruyere cheese

Entree

IMG_20170727_082953_457
Salmon Papillote – Salmon wrapped in parchment paper and baked with julienned vegetables
IMG_20170727_004445_591
Lechon Kawali – Deep fried pork belly served with liver sauce, native pickled papaya

Dessert

IMG_20170727_082953_460
Mini Ensaymada and Native Tsokolate – Mini versions of Richmonde’s signature cheesy and buttery ensaymada with local tsokolate from Cabatuan blended exclusively for Richmonde Hotel Iloilo
IMG_20170727_004445_642
Deep fried ice cream

It’s no surprise, this popular hotel franchise can definitely deliver well when it comes to pleasing its guests. As expected of a fine dining restaurant, The Granary didn’t disappoint both in food selection and quality. It featured local dishes with modern twists which I think, we wouldn’t find at other restaurants.

It’s safe to say that The Granary has set the standards of fine dining restaurants in Iloilo City. The menu, customer service, and the atmosphere all speak of class. Experiencing something like this in Iloilo makes me proud. Now, we know that there’s a certain hotel in the city that can cater to this particular market.

I sat beside Flavours of Iloilo and asked, “What fork should I use first?” We just stared at each other and laughed. I ended up eating the sisig wrap with my bare hands. Needless to say, I enjoyed each course with the staple utensils – spoon and fork- and no one minded me at all.

I should’ve reviewed Fine Dining 101. Sorry, Ma’am Ortigas! The dishes were too delicious for me to mind fine dining etiquette. But whatevs, a great tip is to stop worrying about the forks! 

The Granary is located at
Richmonde Hotel Iloilo
Megaworld Boulevard cor. Enterprise Road
Iloilo Business Park
Mandurriao, Iloilo City
Tel. No.: (033) 328 7888
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RichmondeHotelIloilo/ 
Website: http://www.richmondehoteliloilo.com.ph/

 

Leave a Reply

